Newb Scratch Esquire Build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Mr. Freddy, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Mr. Freddy

Mr. Freddy TDPRI Member

OK so let me start out with a disclaimer: This is a post of mistakes and my only goal as of this moment is to make a working instrument. I have a few years experience with instrument making and woodworking, but most of my experience is in framing out new rooms. I am planning on making a rosewood tele and wanted to try everything out (templates and technique) on stuff I had in the shop before digging into expensive wood.

So I have decided to build an Esquire (made a parts esquire for a friend a few years ago and came out great) from scratch. For the body I have salvaged my grandfather's old rolltop desktop. Good way to keep his memory around and it is free. I have a nice flame maple neck blank I was saving for a Selmer style but built that neck out of walnut and it has sat in the pile for a few years. I plan on painting it blue with a white competition stripe and matching headstock.

Now, I am mistake prone, mostly due to impatience, and I am hoping that my mistakes are a help to anyone who is just starting out on a solidbody like myself. So, other new builders feel free to take my foulups into consideration, and the more seasoned artists I have been following here may feel free to shake their heads in amusement and/or dread.

Enjoy! -Mark

2. Mr. Freddy

Mr. Freddy TDPRI Member

Body Blank

I prepared the body blank from an old 80's desktop. I should start by saying after sanding off the old finish and being covered in the fine dust, any skin that was exposed bubbled up into an awesome rash. My forehead looked like a neanderthal's and my right eye almost closed up. On steroids and the problem is almost all gone. Lesson #1: my body does not like the fine dust of the 80's anywhere near my skin...