1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

newb non player wants to build a "Jaz" guitar for Jaz sax playing son

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by bruceruth1988, Jan 25, 2021.

Tags:
  1. bruceruth1988

bruceruth1988 TDPRI Member

Hi, I have been a woodworker my whole life but have never built a guitar nor do I play one or any other instrument for that matter. My son is a jaz saxophonist with a Masters in Saxophone performance and mentioned he might want a guitar so I want to build one for him. I have a CNC router to do most of the wood cutting on. I use Fusion360 for CAD and CAM.
    What I need from all of you is:
    Are their CNC plans for an electric Jaz guitar if there is such a thing?
    What hardware is needed? He mentioned Humbucker pickups.
    I seriously know nothing about this but I can surely follow plans and instructions. I don't want to build one from a kit.
    Any help you could provide would be deeply appreciated.
    Thanks

crazydave911 and telemnemonics like this.
  2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

DXF files of a tele body and neck are in here:

Schablonen und Zeichnungen - GitarreBassBau.de

The body is '53bodymaster noflat by Edhawley

the neck is neck50'sfinal also by Edhawley.

You may want to check out his awesome thread

'53 CNC build | Telecaster Guitar Forum (tdpri.com)

The same drawing is available as a pdf in post 585 here:

D-Size Tele Body Blueprint Files HERE | Page 30 | Telecaster Guitar Forum (tdpri.com)

The body drawing can be used as is or you can remove elements and replace them if you like.

These may help too.

Let's make a body ! | Telecaster Guitar Forum (tdpri.com)

Press a button and out pops a guitar build. | Telecaster Guitar Forum (tdpri.com)