1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

New Vox AC15 Rig Build + Plans

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by sbroom, Jan 7, 2019.

1. sbroom

sbroom TDPRI Member

[​IMG]

I've been sort of a fly on the wall on this and other forums for a long time. I built a Vox AC15 into a Head and vertical 2x12 cabinet based on the multitude of information, and I just thought I'd share.

First, I have been playing through my Vox ac15 for a few years now. I changed out the speaker I bought it with for a Celestion Gold Alnico. I love the sweet alnico sound, and it's worked well for the styles I play; blues and classic rock. Recently I determined that my single notes sound too thin I also determined my bottom end wasn't tight enough (also on my amp's sound;)). I decided it was time to beef up my tone a bit, to have bigger sound on the table for when I want it. SO, after much research, I designed a Head+Cab combo for my AC15:

I decided to reduce the footprint of the 2X12 cab and improve the lateral sound distribution by making it a mesa-style upright. I decided to use my Gold Alnico and a Greenback, with the Greenback on top.

I'm a cheapskate, so I picked up regular interior-grade birch cabinet plywood. I used 3/4" on everything but the baffle and the top and bottom of the head. My plans used two 2'x4' sheets of 3/4" and on 2'x4' sheet of 1/2" (see my plans at the bottom).

I decided ahead of time that I wanted side handles on the cab and casters, and that I would install the input inside one of the handles. I also decided to stain at first, rather than cover with tolex, but to smooth the edges and corners such that I could at tolex and corner protectors later if I wanted. I left the baffle partially floating in the corners. I'm glad I did!