New to guitar - tips on palm muting please

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by AndyPanda, Oct 1, 2019.

1. AndyPanda

AndyPanda Tele-Meister

I'm a long time musician but new to guitar. I've had my tele for about two weeks and have been loving it. Practicing scales and chords and getting my picking and fingering down. I'm trying to understand right hand muting and, so far, what is working best for me is to get the fleshy heel of my hand right over the bridge and find the sweet spot where the note sounds but is damped so it dies when you move to the next string.

My question is a "is this normal for all beginners? Or am I a mutant" type question. If I get my hand positioned on the wound E string (what's the naming convention when talking about strings "low" vs "high" or "first" and "sixth" (and if 1st and 6th, which is 1st?) Anyway .. if my hand is positioned for good muting on the wound E .. as I get to the G-B and unwound E string my hand has moved behind the bridge and isn't muting. SO I have to consciously move my hand forward (or it feels to me like I'm moving forward just to stay straight I'm guessing) as I go up the scale and then consciously pull my hand back as I come back down the scale.

Any tips on this are much appreciated. Would a video help? I'm guessing it may be because I like to have the neck angled up so the guitar is at an angle and my picking hand probably goes straight down - that would explain why it feels like I have to bring my picking hand forward as I move down towards the G-B-E strings. But if I bring the neck down so it's horizontal, that forces my fretting hand wrist into an uncomfortable bend --- and as I get older (I'm 65) I find I have to keep those wrists really straight.

I'm guessing this is just a "keep at it until it becomes second nature" type thing.