New To Digital Recording - Need Advice for Purchases

Discussion in 'Recording In Progress' started by tclotworthy, Oct 19, 2019.

1. tclotworthy

tclotworthy TDPRI Member

Hi,

Ok. I have limited experience with digital recording but I am highly committed to overcome learning curves and spend some (lets say for starters up to $1.5K) for software, equipment, mics, etc. Here is how I envision using it:

1) Record my band(s) for fun (I play guitar lead/rhythm). Some acoustic setups, some all electric. Assume all instruments/vocals are already miked and running through sound board. So I want the ability to have separate recording channels for everything. I do not need pro-quality recording, but I would like really good isolation between instruments so that I can overdub anything, delete tracks, add tracks, add effects to anything in isolation or overall.

2) The ability to build my own instrument tracks electronically. I would be mostly concerned with being able to make sophisticated drum tracks. In other words, tracks that don't just provide a beat, but where I can throw in accents and rolls, and stuff like that. I am not a drummer. The easier the interface for this the better because I don't really have strong music theory for writing fancy drum charts or anything. HOWEVER, also electronic tracks for bass and keyboards (keyboards less important).

3) Buy upgraded mikes for recording guitar. Guitar is the one instrument I want to put the most effort into polishing on recordings, so I would be willing to make an extra investment for good mikes, etc.

Thanks

2. Guitarteach

Guitarteach Poster Extraordinaire

Do you have a computer? What is it? A mac with GarageBand is an excellent start with simple to use drummer and loads of digital instruments.

What desk/board are you using? Can it output the individual channels?