1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

New to binding

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Laren, Jul 12, 2020.

1. Laren

Laren Tele-Meister

Hi all,

I'm thinking of trying some binding on a thin line tele type build. I have a router bit that would give me a 1/8 inch cut (3mm approx). When I look up 'binding' it all seems to be 1.5mm thick.

I'm completely new to this so any help, advice appreciated.

IMG_20200711_145359.jpg

2. Ronkirn

Ronkirn Doctor of Teleocity

3. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

4. slick4772

slick4772 Tele-Meister

Since we’re discussing binding - I’ve had success with using just acetone to melt the binding for adhesion to the body. It’s much easier to install it and there’s way less (almost no) mess to deal with after. If there are any downsides to this method, I’d love to hear about it.

5. Ronkirn

Ronkirn Doctor of Teleocity

I've been doing it that way for a couple a decades now... NO adverse issues.. the only thing is, the binding must be "agreeable" .. If the acetone doesn't dissolve it some, it will not work..

r

6. rangercaster

rangercaster Poster Extraordinaire

Binding seems like a lot of work ...

I'll just buy a guitar with binding already on it, thank you ...

7. BBenderNut

BBenderNut TDPRI Member

Practice with the router bit A LOT before you actually take the router to the guitar. It's super frustrating if you make a mistake and remove too much wood. I suppose you can make a patch, but your patch will never match the real thing.

And if the binding is a bit too thicker than your router bit, you can still installed the binding. After the glue has set up, you can trim the excess binding away with a scraper: https://www.stewmac.com/luthier-too...-tools/scrapers/stewmac-ultimate-scraper.html