New Tele builds: Cuban Mahogany and Guanacaste (Parota)

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by theprofessor, Aug 25, 2019.

1. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's

A friend of mine is a woodworker by trade, and he plays the acoustic guitar. He's been wanting a Telecaster, and I started off our venture together by giving him a roasted maple Tele neck I had. So he decided it was time to build a body. I served as a kind of apprentice and advisor, since I have put together a couple of partscasters and have an idea of how things to together. So we used his home shop and his shop at work, along with wood he already had on racks, to build the both of us two Telecasters (of course I had to build one too!).

Here's a pic of the shop behind his house where we did a lot of the work.

IMG_1381.JPG

We ended up building three T-type bodies so far: (1) a two-piece poplar body that served as a practice body (which is very helpful, by the way, if you can find some wood to practice on). (2) a T-type made from Guanacaste (parota) which is his and (3) a T-type made of Cuban mahogany that he inherited. It made its way here before the embargo during the Kennedy administration, and he's been waiting for something special to make with it. He was kind enough to let me make a Tele out of it.

We ordered a template from ebay, which seemed to work fine, and we made some copies in MDF as well. I'm not convinced that everything is perfect on the template we used, but it is quite good. It could be that the fact that my neck pocket isn't perfect, for example, is user error.