New monitors are making me re-think my mixes.

StrangerNY

Poster Extraordinaire
Gold Supporter
Funny how a different piece of gear can change your outlook on what your music should sound like.

I've been using a pair of Behringer Truth monitors for nearly the past 5 years and I love 'em. Plenty of power, steady response on all frequencies, sound great at either low or high volume. I just did a bunch of preliminary mixes for a planned album and I was pretty happy with what the Behringers gave me.

But they're the only monitors I had, and I'd just work between them and phones.

This week a friend gifted me a pair of Audix PH-5 Power House monitors. I figured they'd come in handy for a set of near-field monitors, so I bought a switching box and set everything up last night when I got home from a gig. I figured trying to really hear anything would be a fool's errand after playing at a pretty healthy volume for four hours, so I wired everything up and made sure it was all working and went to bed.

This morning I got up and set about testing the system out. I picked a song where I liked the overall mix and the sounds of individual instruments, which was Biffy Clyro's 'A Hunger in your Haunt.' A big recording, based on a 3 piece band with supplemental guitars and keyboards with plenty of definition. Pretty much the same instrumentation as what I'm using on my stuff.

Through both sets of speakers, the mix is massive. While the Behringers are pretty sparkly, the Audix monitors are more midrange-focused. But the perspective of the mix was very consistent on either set of speakers.

Then I opened Reaper and brought up the mix of what will be the opening track on my album and did some A-B comparison. The mix sounded pretty full on the Behringers, but through the Audix there was a lot more midrange, to the point where the entire mix sounded woofy. And the mix between the two sets of monitors seemed radically different.