New Jet 10-20 Drum Sander

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by PapaWheelie, Jan 18, 2020.

1. PapaWheelie

PapaWheelie Tele-Meister

I saw today that Jet came out with a benchtop drum sander in 10"-20" a few years ago and Woodcraft is having a sale on it. I would love a 16-32 but really don't have the room for it. I think I could find room to store a benchtop when it's not being used.

Has anyone owned or seen this unit in operation? I've read mixed reviews, most from several years ago. It's still a lot of hard earned money so would like some honest reviews.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
  2. guitarbuilder

guitarbuilder Telefied Ad Free Member

I have no experience with that one but I have had 2 opened ended regular size drum sanders. They work OK, but being open ended they don't sand perfectly flat. I would expect a high spot down the middle if you turn something around for a second pass.

SacDAve likes this.
  3. Jim_in_PA

Jim_in_PA Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

Very careful adjustment will minimize the tiny "high spot" in the middle of sanders like this and the impact on a glued up panel should be minimal, especially after additional sanding after it's glued onto something. There should be instructions for that alignment/adjustment with the machine, but folks often report that they fine tune things by placing pencil marks across a panel and very gradually work up to where things are exactly where they want them to be. (I used that technique on a 19/38 I recently picked up barely used for my shop)

4. PapaWheelie

PapaWheelie Tele-Meister

That's something that I had not thought of and could be a deal breaker. With a high spot in the center it seems to me that there would be a good possibility of sanding through a lacquer finish between coats trying to get the finish dead flat.
    Or would this high spot in the body be just a couple thousandths that could be easily leveled by hand with a straight sanding block?

5. guitarbuilder