1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

New here and looking to build a tube amp

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by CBMorgan91, Jan 19, 2021.

1. CBMorgan91

CBMorgan91 TDPRI Member

Good morning everyone,

This is my first post, so I'll start with a short introduction and then my question.
    My name is Christian and I am new to the world of tube guitar amps or amps in general. I have dabbled with tube radios with mixed success, but I get the basics of circuitry.

I have a chassis from a tabletop RCA radio with octal tubes. The tube sockets are all in good shape as is the output transformer which drove an 8 ohm 6 inch speaker. The tube lineup was 35z5, 12sq7, 12sk7, 12sa7, and 50L6. This was a transformerless set.

I have it in my mind that I could use some of these tubes, chassis, output transformer, and maaaaybe the speaker to build my first amp.i would like to add a main transformer.
    My goal would be to build a guitar amp with a very clean sound. If I want distortion and reverb, I'd add accessories such as pedals.
    I have lots of questions so I will try to make this as simple as possible. With this old radio chassis be something that would be practical to build on to? Can someone provide me with a schematic and possibly a parts list for the type of amp that I am trying to build? Did anyone recommend a good source for a man transformer? I want this amp to be pretty simple. An on/off switch, volume, and tone. I don't know if I would use the original potentiometers or not, but I do have them still. I may also want to swap out the original speaker for a 15 inch 8 ohm. Thank you for any information and help you can give me.​

TeleUpNorth likes this.
  2. lathoto

lathoto Tele-Meister

3. Nickfl

Nickfl Friend of Leo's