New Guitar Day turns into Scratch My Head Day….

CountryPunk70

TDPRI Member
Bought a 2009 American Standard on Reverb for pretty short money- It got delivered, and I was really happy with it right out of the box. Had a little fret buzz, but nothing heinous. The next day, I decided to put 9’s on it since it had 10’s and that’s not what I prefer on Fenders. So I slowly took the strings off and put the new ones on, only to find that the action had completely flattened somehow, all the strings were suddenly right on the frets. So I loosened the truss rod a bit, thinking it was a relief issue, and got most of the strings back where they needed to be, but somehow, the low E string is still buzzing like crazy, and is definitely hitting a fret somewhere. I’m clearly not a luthier, and I have limited experience with truss rod tomfoolery- does this seem like I’ve just got a high fret somewhere, or what? The seller claimed it had just had a fret level done, and new bone nut installed. Does anybody out there know what’s going on here? Thanks for any info you can provide- I’m obviously out of my depth here.

Attachments

• 0FE8466F-C8E7-494A-9395-2BC8E1C0E272.jpeg
    0FE8466F-C8E7-494A-9395-2BC8E1C0E272.jpeg
    164.7 KB · Views: 39

_dave_

Tele-Meister
Silver Supporter
Someone else with more experience will chime in I’m sure, but my experience when changing string gauge, is to do a complete setup starting with action and truss rod…etc… it may not seem like a big jump to 9s but the tension could affect everything so that you need to “reset” for the new string tension.
Hope this helps.

Telekarster

Poster Extraordinaire
Gold Supporter
I would recommend you take it to your local luthier and have them to a complete setup on it, if you're gonna play 9's. That's most likely the issue. I wouldn't mess with that truss rod anymore IMO and FWIW ;)

Si G X

Friend of Leo's