New bullet dilemma

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by bls82261, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. Switchy

    Switchy Tele-Holic

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    956
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2019
    Location:
    Arizona

    :lol::lol::lol: It's ME that's been looking at loaded pickguards for strats!


    But loaded tele plates are dirt cheap too.
     
    nicod98 and LutherBurger like this.
  2. Jlwctn

    Jlwctn Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    259
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Did you shoot any contact cleaner in the switch?
     
  3. bls82261

    bls82261 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Location:
    Virginia
    I did try the detox thing. It didn't make any difference. My next attempt is going to be desolder the yellow wire, cut it back a bit and resolder. If that doesn't work then a new switch it is.

    Thanks for all the replies.
     
  4. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,714
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    My switch was bad when I received it -- one of the lugs was loose and only provided intermittent contact. I replaced it.

    If you determine that your switch is good and only the solder joints are bad, I recommend ditching that skinny little bridge between them (it will fall off when you touch it with the soldering iron) and soldering the pickup wire directly to both lugs.
     
    bls82261 likes this.
  5. Mind Flayer

    Mind Flayer Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Btw, I played one of these bullet teles yesterday, the surf green one. I was really surprised at how thick the neck was! It felt great! I don’t need any more guitars, but these seem like a really good deal.
     
    bls82261 and Fendereedo like this.
  6. bls82261

    bls82261 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Location:
    Virginia
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020
  7. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,714
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    I used an old box switch in mine. As far as I know, any 3-way blade switch will fit -- box or open -- because their mounting holes are all the same distance from each other.

    Some box switches come with oval head screws, though, and their heads will stand above the surface of the plate because the holes in the plate aren't countersunk.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.