New bullet dilemma

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by bls82261, Feb 25, 2020.

1. bls82261

bls82261 TDPRI Member

I bought a bullet tele of MF last week. I know it's a cheapo but I really like it and have already started to bond with it. Everything was fine this morning but this afternoon I have no power in the bridge position. I don't think its the pup, I think it's the switch. I get the "normal" tone change between the middle and neck position.

I bought this guitar for a couple of reasons. I wanted something with some twang but I also wanted something inexpensive I could learn to do setups and minor repairs on.

Musicians Friend says of course they'll exchange it but if I try to repair and am unsuccessful then there will be a restocking fee.

I have zero experience with guitar wiring but am at least semi handy.

So, do y'all think I should tackle this myself and take a chance on blowing up my warranty or just exchange?

Thanks

Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
    Fendereedo likes this.
  2. Mind Flayer

Mind Flayer Tele-Meister

Probably just a bad soldering connection. If you really like the guitar and don't feel up to the task, you could take it to a tech for a quick look; if it's just a bad solder joint, any remotely competent tech should be able to fix it quickly and cheaply.

3. Mind Flayer

Mind Flayer Tele-Meister

On second thought, if one of the reasons you bought this was to learn how to do repairs, then I guess you ought to just try and fix it yourself. There are some youtube videos on how to solder guitar wires if you're not familiar with that. Worst case scenario, you can't fix it, just take it to a tech, should not be an expensive fix.

4. bgmacaw

bgmacaw Friend of Leo's

Do you have a soldering iron and do you know how to use it?

Do you have a multimeter to test the circuit? You don't absolutely need to have one but it helps.