New Black '52 Meets '70s Tele Build

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Phrygian77, Dec 3, 2019 at 8:46 PM.

1. Phrygian77

Phrygian77 Tele-Afflicted

I'm a better amp builder than guitar builder, but I had the itch again recently...

Wasn't sure if this should go in the Partscaster forum or here, but I'm posting here since I did my own Tru Oil finish on the neck (5 coats), with some carnauba wax on the back of the neck. These are Warmoth parts. The neck is a 'Vintage Modern' with a straight 9.5" radius, 1-11/16" nut width, and a 'Standard Thin' C shape. It's 22 frets, which I'll never do again with a wood mounted neck pickup. I would have preferred a vintage body, but I got a good deal on a standard one.

Hardware is mostly Marc Rutters's stuff, his Brodacaster knobs, 3/8" over control plate (reversed obviously), brass compensated saddles on a Fender bridge plate, string Tree, strap buttons, and string ferrules. The tuners are Gotoh. There's some Glendale in there too. The neck plate (best thick neck plate EVER!) and the black switch tip with a set screw.

The pickups are Mojotone '52 clones. I originally had a Fender OV set, but I f'd up the neck pickup modding it for the separate ground for 4-way switching (may have been dead to begin with, but I never tested it. Lesson learned). So, I custom ordered a Mojotone '52 clone set with longer neck pickup wires for the reverse control plate and a separate ground wire. I went ahead and got the bridge too. I actually like the '52 Clone Mojotone bridge better anyway. It's a hair spankier than the OV bridge. Slightly lower wind I think, it measured 6.4k.

IMG_20191203_110115.jpg IMG_20191203_110126.jpg IMG_20191203_110143.jpg IMG_20191203_110206.jpg IMG_20191203_110229.jpg IMG_20191203_110317.jpg IMG_20191203_110338.jpg IMG_20191203_110410.jpg IMG_20191203_110441.jpg

2. Sax-son

Sax-son Tele-Meister

Looks pretty sweet to me.:)

Phrygian77 likes this.
  3. theprofessor

theprofessor Friend of Leo's