Need your opinion guys (pedal placement)

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by petemoss41, Oct 1, 2019.

1. petemoss41

petemoss41 TDPRI Member

I have a fairly medium to big pedal board.
    But on the gain side of things, I've always kept things simple.
    For years, I have used a Bluesdriver to boost my BB Preamp.
    However, I recently got a really nice Klon klone.
    I am strugging whether to put the Klon before the BB to fatten it up, and use the Bluesdriver as a boost, or if I should swap their places on the board?
    Not sure if either is ideal. I am fairly new to Klon Klones, and I know it is all personal preference, but I am really curious to see what some of you think would be best?

Thanks guys!

2. blackguts

blackguts Tele-Meister

Boost after dirt if you want more volume. Boost before dirt if you want dirtier dirt.

3. petemoss41

petemoss41 TDPRI Member

Exactly, I think I am just trying to figure out which pedal (klon or BD-2) to put before and which to put after?
    It might be a dumb question to be fair

4. 57fenderstrat

57fenderstrat Tele-Meister

I have a klone and I personally like it earlier in the chain. I like other pedals being after it’s buffer and I like using it as a lower gain drive. When I have it after a dirt pedal I like and use it as a boost I almost feel like too much of the klon sound takes over. Best to just try a few things out and see what happens

petemoss41 likes this.
  5. CapnCrunch

CapnCrunch Friend of Leo's

I am familiar with at least one Klon clone, I don't know if they are alike, so caveat there. I am also familiar with the BD, but have never played a BB pre. I personally like and use a pre amp before OD and Dist. My order goes 1. Clinch Pre 2. Tim OD 3. Suhr Riot. I use the pre and OD by far the most and really like to drive the OD with the pre.