Need tips on retouching

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by mdossa, Jun 24, 2021.

1. mdossa

mdossa TDPRI Member

I'm new to guitar finishing works, so please bare with me. I did some retouching on this guitar where the black paint was badly scratched, then applied a clear nitro coating over the area. It looked OK at that point, apart from the obvious level difference of the new coat. Wet-sanded the area down with 400, 600, 800 and 1200 grit, then buffed and polished by hand. The result is frustrating. My questions to you guys:
    a couple of areas now show a kind of blur, like a difference in brightness. It won't go away with polishing, so I take it it lies deep below the nitro coat. Could it be a different kind of finishing there? Or something to do with humidity? And what about the fine ring shaped scratches that still show after polishing, is it possible to get rid of those? Thanks a lot for any insights!

IMG_20210624_092308369.jpg

2. Preacher

Preacher Friend of Leo's

Ok we need a few more questions answered.

First off, what kind of finish is on the original guitar? This is really important because if the original finish is not nitro spraying nitro over the old finish is a bad idea.

3. mdossa

mdossa TDPRI Member

That's where I'm stumbling. I suspect it may not be nitro, but how can I find out what is in the old finish?

4. dogmeat

dogmeat Friend of Leo's

that can happen even when using the same finish, out of the same can. nitro on nitro is easier to get away with because the new literally melts into the old. any kind of acrylic, poly, or enamel paint is going to show that layered effect to some degree. the cure for what you have is to coat the whole thing, clear or color.

now, you can do drop fills... go over to StewMac and look at Dan's how to

mdossa likes this.
  5. Preacher

Preacher Friend of Leo's

Make and model of the guitar will help.