Need tips for practicing scales

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Manly wimp 17, Mar 25, 2017.

1. Manly wimp 17

Manly wimp 17 TDPRI Member

I want to start practicing scales but there's something bothering me. What angle should be between your fingers and the fretboard (if your index is pressing a fret on the A string should it be muting the D string?), also, how much bending is allowed in your wrist ( my wrist bends when i play on the 6th string while having my pinky and index on the 6th string-in this case im not muting any other strings with my fretting hand fingers). I'm really afraid of developing bad habts but I want to start practicing scales real bad, coz I find them fun. Please help so I can start improving my playing!

2. Vespa_One

Vespa_One Tele-Holic

When I fret the A string playing scales the D string is muted. I'm self taught so that could just be how I play. I tried to play through some scales WITHOUT muting other strings and it was very hard! When playing scales you only want to hear one note one string at a time so I would think muting would be a good thing.

3. Anode100

Anode100 Friend of Leo's

This - and use a metronome - be it a mechanical one, or a smartphone app. There are many guitarists who can shred, but couldn't keep time if their lives depended on it.

ndcaster, Vespa_One and Jules78 like this.
  4. raito

raito Poster Extraordinaire

I disagree about muting while practicing scales. Scales are about more yhan just getting a sequence of notes. The OP gets it right when he's concerned about wrist and finger position.

There shouldn't be any muting. Or alternately, any muting must be entirely deliberate. Try playing a scale where every other note is muted. Or alternate between muting the next higher and next lower string.

If you just let yourself mute because it's easier, what are you going to do when you need to double stop or let an adjacent string ring?