1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Need some help with Princeton Reverb Build

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by KBarW, Feb 24, 2020.

1. KBarW

KBarW TDPRI Member

Building a Mojotone Princeton Reverb amp. All the way down to the testing. I've run into a big problem - I'm reading 833 volts at the power tubes. The rectifier is reading 328 volts just like it should. The diode board is correct with the proper polarity.

I've looked over my wiring on the transformer section and everything looks good.

I checked the eyelet board with the power tubes removed and every point I checked was reading about double what it should be.

I'm experienced in soldering, having built tons of connectors, cables, rack panels, etc., but I'm a total novice at amp building.

Anything of the top of anyone's head that I could check?

2. Viejo

Viejo Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Did you switch your meter to DC Volts to measure at the power tubes?

Nickfl likes this.
  3. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

Alright, so move up from the rectifier. Check the AC coming into it from the power transformer. If that seems reasonable then check the DC at the first filter cap node, which will also be connected to the rectifier. If those two areas aren't right, nothing else will be right.

Move out from there - second filter cap node, and so on.

4. BigDaddy23

BigDaddy23 Tele-Holic

Step one

Phrygian77 likes this.
  5. KBarW

KBarW TDPRI Member

No, I didn't. The layout diagram just says 380v. Do I assume that every voltage is DC unless it specifically says AC?

6. KBarW

KBarW TDPRI Member

Thanks for that.....now if I only knew what you mean by filter cap node. The voltage from the transformer measures properly at the rectifier.