Need some amp recommendations

Discussion in 'Worship Service Players' started by Chickin-Pickin, Jun 9, 2014.

1. Chickin-Pickin

Chickin-Pickin Tele-Meister

I'm thinking about getting a new amp. I've been using a Vox AC15 for about 6-7 years and I love the Vox chimey sound. But I'm thinking I want a newer amp.
    I need it to be around 15 watts, Tube (Obviously).
    We play everything from Hillsong to Citizens to Lincoln. I like the idea of the Night Train 15 G2 head with a cab, but I'd love to hear what else may be out there that I haven't thought of.

2. LGOberean

LGOberean Doctor of Teleocity

How about a Peavey ValveKing Series II? I've been interested in that series lately. If your set on a head and cab thing, then maybe the VK Micro-head, though personally I'd go for the combo version (VK Combo 20w). Either way, 20 watts, 2 EL84s and 3 12AX7s, with a whole bunch of nice features on both the front and rear panels.

http://peavey.com/products/valveking/

3. LGOberean

Upon reflection, my ValveKing II, VK 20w recommendation has the same tube compliment as the AC15, IIRC. You used the term "newer" and not "different," so maybe the VK 20w will work for you.

In the VK II series there is also a 50 watt combo version that uses two 6L6GCs, so that might give you different tonal characteristics, but then the wattage output is significantly higher. Then again, the rear panel of the VK 50 also has the power switch that takes it from 50 watts down to 12 or even down to 2, so that could work as well. Not bad for $600.

4. Chickin-Pickin

I'll have to look at the Peavy's sometime. my local GC doesn't seem to have any right now.
    I'm almost afraid to change, I've played the Vox so long that I don't know anything else. I would like to be able to switch between a clean and dirty channel, but even now, my clean isn't that clean.