1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Need help housebreaking a dog

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by quackerz, Jun 25, 2010.

1. quackerz

quackerz Tele-Afflicted

My wife bought a beagle pup several months ago as a 50th birthday present to herself. Beagles are stubborn little guys, sweet and loving but will knock you off a roof to get to a potato chip. This is the third beagle we have owned and the fifth in my family, so we're used to the breed's idiosyncrasies. The problem is this particular dog refuses to be housebroken. In all honesty, he's not the brightest dog I have owned but I have never had an issue with housebreaking before so I am no expert on the subject. All the dogs I've owned in the past had just 'gotten it' after praising and rewarding them for doing their business outside several times. This dog just doesn't get it. He'll relieve himself outside then come back in the house for a repeat performance. He knows he is wrong as he avoids us after doing the deed, but that never stops him. We walk him constantly and let him loose in the yard several times a day so he's definitely not lacking for outside space and smells, yet he is never good more than 50% of the time.

Any recommendations? Thanks much!

2. ASC67

ASC67 Friend of Leo's

Some puppies take longer than others, I think the key is you have to catch him in the act and scold right away and then take him outside. Hopefully he will get it after a few times. Another thing is you have to make sure you get rid of the scent of where he has gone inside, get an enzymatic stain and odor remover from the pet store that will get rid of all traces of the scent. If you don't he will still smell it and will encourage him to keep going inside. Good luck and be patient he will get it eventually.

3. Big_Bend

Big_Bend Poster Extraordinaire