Need help; 5F1 build completely dead.

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by teek_s, Sep 21, 2020.

1. teek_s

teek_s TDPRI Member

Hello everybody! I'll preface this by saying that I'm a first time builder, and I have no experience building amps. I've been lurking around here with no account for quite a while now, but with this most recent issue I thought I should finally make an account and ask for some help. I've had a massive interest in building amps for quite a while now, and with the start of our quarantine a few months back, I thought it was finally time to get around to it. It may be important to note that I am not using any sort of kit for this build; the components were bought over the span of a few months in small orders. To start, I finally completed my very first 5F1 build two days ago, and I've had no luck troubleshooting with the resources I've found already. My issue is, whenever the amp is plugged in and the on switch is flipped, absolutely nothing happens. The indicator light stays off, the tubes never come to life, no sound is outputted, and even doing the deadly and poking around the amp while plugged in, no current whatsoever is outputted from the power transformer. I am sure the wiring is correct, as I have poked in there with a multi-meter and found all the expected results. The fuse isn't dead, and the indicator light bulb isn't broken or burnt out. To give more info, I am using the Classictone 5F1 PT. I believe it is wired correctly, as the hot from the power cord is ran through the on-off switch to the first black lead, and the neutral is connected to the second black lead. The amp has been grounded to earth with the green wire. I have included a few images of the amps guts, please pardon the messy wiring. Thanks a million for the help!

IMG_20200921_115329.jpg IMG_20200921_115336.jpg IMG_20200921_115345.jpg

2. awasson

awasson Poster Extraordinaire Gold Supporter