Necks

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Cashews121, Jan 13, 2020.

1. Cashews121

Cashews121 TDPRI Member

I have been playing a standard Mexican Tele for the last 3-4 yrs..which I got for $250 in almost mint condition.. After set up,its a very good player for sure,,but... The neck,,I could never get comfortable with it,too thin..also the guitar weighs about 8lbs.. So basically..I need help choosing something else..something not 8lbs,and something with a thicker neck. Please suggestions !

nojazzhere likes this.
  2. corliss1

corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

"about 8 pounds" - so you're saying it's just less than 8 pounds? That's pretty average for a telecaster as far as weight goes.

For the neck, try out some different models, even if they are outside of your price range, so you know what other things feel like.

Electric Warrior likes this.
  3. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

What's your budget? You can get +/- $350 for your current guitar; on my local Craigslist people are asking $400 now for used MIM Standards. Good score for the price you paid.

Guitar bodies vary a lot in weight, even within the same models. You need to either find a place that has them to try out or find someone online who's going to tell you the weight before you buy. 8 lbs would be an issue for me too.

If you can afford it, the '50s Baja Tele has a big'ol thick baseball bat neck. Another thought is the Vintera Thinline Tele; I think the weight would be nice but I'm not sure what shape the neck is. Your MIM Standard has a Modern C shape - it's my favorite, but yes, it is thin.

Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
  4. schmee

schmee Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

My best guitars are about 8.5 lb.

Frito-Man and corliss1 like this.
  5. TeleTown

TeleTown Friend of Leo's

find a 7lb Baja classic player.

6. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter

+1 Classic Player 50s Baja. Fender's best production tele to date.