1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Neck Shims

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by telefunk, Jul 4, 2008.

1. telefunk

telefunk Tele-Meister

Hi, what's the best way to use shims in the neck pocket ? The bridge saddles are down as far as they go and I need to shim the neck to allow a lower action. Should I put a narrow shim at the (bridge) end of the pocket to tilt the neck back, or shim the whole pocket to raise the height of the neck ? Thanks in advance.:?:

2. thepassivevoice

thepassivevoice Tele-Meister

I'm no expert, but to lower the strings, I put a narrow shim at end of the pocket closest to the bridge so the neck tilts "away" from the bridge. That has worked fine and remained stable.

3. boris bubbanov

boris bubbanov Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

I let the shims fall in the garbage can.

They seem to do the most good down there, out of the way. ;)

Unless one of these real pricey ones I haven't pulled the neck on has a shim, I ain't got any in this whole passel of guitars. Their use is highly overrrated, IMO.

4. CatfishStudios

CatfishStudios Banned

Ditto ... My Strat was shimmed, just a small strip on the bridge side of the neck...just shy of the neck length.... Ive had to de-shim(?) it to get the setup I was after.

5. Rick J

Rick J Tele-Holic

Boris, what do you do to correct a neck angle if you don't use shims? I've always used shims if necessary, seem to work fine. If the strings are too high off the board with the saddles all the way down, a small shim about half an inch wide, maybe of thin card or wood veneer, right at the body end of the neck pocket will usually correct the problem, and Telefunk, thats would I would suggest you try.