Neck Pickup Help?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by The Ballzz, Jun 4, 2017.

1. The Ballzz

The Ballzz Tele-Afflicted

Hi Folks,
    Here's the deal! I've got a home made ash bodied Tele that has a GFS/XGP body, Warmoth standard thin neck with 9.5" ebony finger board and stainless 6105 frets. While I've been a gigging guitarist for +/- 40 years, with Les Pauls and Strats, this is my first Telecaster and one of the most stellar guitars i've ever played, except......... the neck pup! It's just too bass/bottom end heavy.

Pickup and control configuration includes a set of "Dirty River" pickups from Blake Wright Guitars:

https://www.blakewrightguitars.com/pickups

wired to a 4-way switch (bridge/bridge-neck parallel/neck/bridge-neck series) with good quality 250K pots and either a .022 or .015 cap. The two pickups are magnetically reversed from each other and I'm not sure if they are reverse wired or not. The bridge pup has been swapped back and forth with a "No-Caster" that I have on hand and there is not much difference, as the BWG sounds pretty awesome. The problem comes in when using the neck pup in any of the configurations, as it gets too bass heavy or treble poor, hard to say which. The neck pup sounds really good at what it was intended for, but just not my cup of tea.

I'm hoping you folks may be able to make some suggestions for me to try out. I play mostly rock and blues (my band's name is "Rock N Blues") and just need a brighter, yet still kinda powerful neck pup to make this may favorite guitar of all time!

What I'm really kinda hoping is that someone(s) here may be willing to sell me different pups to try that I could return for a refund, if I don't actually like them. Obviously, I'd pay the shipping both ways! I'd really rather not have a drawer full of pickups that I paid for and have no use for.

Thanks Folks,
    Gene

Here's a terrible pic of the monster in question:

IMG_1168.jpg

Sjnoring likes this.
  2. sjtalon