1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Nashville conversion for my american special

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by GLee94, Apr 20, 2021.

1. GLee94

GLee94 Tele-Meister

ever since i started playing i’ve loved the sound of position 4 on a strat but i could never get along with the ergonomics of the instrument.. slightly cramped for my taste...i finally pulled the trigger on something i’ve wanted to do for a while..i routed out a chunk under the pickguard and threw in some new pickups....the route job itself is amateur at best, but once i got my hands on a pattern bit to clean it up...it’s not bad for a first time doer (in my humble opinion) i loved this guitar before but we’ve been inseparable since the operation:)

let me know how i did! you won’t hurt my feelings telling me my route job sucks haha they call me the klutz for a reason;) much love! 8F4739AC-2E12-4CA8-925C-F7B5E36F8210.jpeg

Attached Files:

2. schmee

schmee Doctor of Teleocity

Looks good!

nojazzhere and GLee94 like this.
  3. Steve Holt

Steve Holt Friend of Leo's

I think it looks pretty good! I've done way worse in places that won't be seen.

GLee94 likes this.
  4. jackal

jackal Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

Compared to my butchered routing, it looks fantastic.

GLee94 likes this.
  5. JL_LI

JL_LI Friend of Leo's

Just a couple of suggestions...

Paint the route with shielding paint.
    Wire the 5 way switch for:
    Posn 1 bridge
    2 bridge and neck
    3 neck
    4 neck and middle
    5. Middle

Positions 1, 2, and 3 will be normal Telecaster switch positions giving you the bridge and neck that you’d miss your first day with a Nashville. Position 4 will be humbucker like and position 5 will be the coveted middle pickup position. I have a Strat wired this way and love it.

GLee94 likes this.