1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Nad-peavey Classic 30! But There's A Problem...

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by backalleyblues, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Howdy Everyone!

    Just got home an hour ago with a later, US-made Peavey Classic 30 that is in overall decent shape, but it does have one problem... NO REVERB!!!

    I knew this when I tested out the amp, and got the guy down off his otherwise decent price-$200 to bring it home-it actually sounds really good, and once I get the reverb going, will be a great small gig amp (the whole purpose of buying it, of course!)

    I am getting some splash when I tap on the tank (not much though) and I didn't see any broken wires... but I did notice the input transducer was pretty wiggly on its post, a lot more than I think it should be.

    My first thought of course is the tank is bad, and in the next few days, I'll run over to a buddy's to try a couple different tanks in there, to eliminate any other issues that might be causing this. I'm fine working on the inside of an amp (this one does need some cleaning!) so if there's any particular thing I need to look at, please let me know.

    I had a C30 a number of years ago (an early tweed one) but I didn't care for the sound of that amp-this one sounds like it should, nice and a bit chimey, not muffled at all, and that's with the original Blue Marvel speaker in there (likely a rebranded Eminence)... get the reverb going, and I'll be set for awhile...

    Thanks (or is that tanks?) in advance for your help!

    Franc Robert
     
  2. Crobbins

    Crobbins Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,302
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Location:
    Meiners Oaks CA.
  3. uriah1

    uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    22,886
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    My old tweed C30 had a replacement tank too. Another one had bad wire (old rca jack)..another time I flipped the wires (in/out) lol
     
  4. Wrong-Note Rod

    Wrong-Note Rod Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,273
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Location:
    atlanta
    I disconnected the reverb tank in my old C-30 and used it that way for years, lots and lots of gigs. I used slapback or delay pedals and settings instead, which sounded better to me anyway.
     
  5. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Thanks for the link, Crobbins, I read through some of the threads there, and I'll check some more over the weekend...

    Worst case scenario I spring (pun intended!) for a new reverb pan, $30 shipped...

    Franc Robert
     
    fuffydingo and Crobbins like this.
  6. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Well, it's confirmed-the reverb tank has tanked... :(

    I borrowed 4 different tanks from my buddy this afternoon, and unfortunately, NONE of them were the correct impedance... BUT...

    One (meant for a blackface Fender amp) DID work somewhat-I cranked the reverb knob, and sure enough, it was there, barely...

    I'll try to fix the input connecter tonight, in the meantime, I'm ordering another tank in... any particular recommendations out there? The original is a 4EB2C1B (2 spring, medium decay, long tank)... wouldn't mind trying a 3 spring version in this amp...

    Thanks for all the suggestions!

    Franc Robert
     
  7. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,380
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    I've owned a couple Classic 30s, great amp for the $, the reverb is SS (IC) driven, it's just ok even when working. I think a good reverb pedal would sound better, I recently got a TC Electronics Hall of Fame, and it has some great reverbs in it.

    As far a different reverb tank, don't know, if you get the impedance matched up, the 3 spring units would have a different sound, better? don't know about that either, it's going to be limited by the circuit to a large extent.
     
  8. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    Goofing around a bit more last night, I plugged my old Boss RV-3 into the effects loop-actually quite nice, though I did have to dial back the mix all the way to 8 o'clock to avoid being drenched in reverb! Assuming I have an adapter that will work, I'll use it this way until I can get a tank in there... just don't care for that Boss buffer in the loop, brightened up the amp considerably...

    Franc Robert
     
  9. Ringo

    Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,380
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis TN
    Did you try the Boss reverb into the front end of the amp ?
     
  10. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    No, I haven't-I keep a Boss RV-6 on my board for those times when I want MORE reverb (kinda like more cowbell, in a way!). I ordered the tank this morning (stuck with a MOD 2 spring like the original) hopefully I'll have it by the end of the week-I do have a gig on Saturday where this amp would be much nicer to have onstage-small room, and we have to move our gear up with a dumbwaiter...

    Franc Robert
     
  11. willhowl

    willhowl Tele-Meister

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    Houston Texas
    Hello, backalleyblues......I just went through a Reverb problem, with a Fender Champion 30 amp I picked up cheap, on local CL, knew it had issues..........

    Anyway, got it solved, it works fine now...( as well as it can)..... Reverb driver IC was replaced, orig tank seemed wonky, a substitute/donor tank proved to have wrong impedance , ordered a new one from Amplified Parts that looked to be correct, and Success!!!.....

    OK...totally different amp, but.....An external unit may/will give you more flexibility, but it sure is nice to have something onboard......

    My point...keep after it, you will get it right....I love Peavey gear.....

    Viva the Gulf Coast!!......willhowl......
     
  12. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    And now, an update...

    Got the tank in yesterday, right before the gig-took 5 minutes to pull and swap the tanks, and sure enough, reveeeerrrrbbbbb...:D

    So on to the gig we went with the Peavey in tow... sounded quite good, and the reverb (with the MOD tank) sounded much better than I thought it would-not quite Fender splashy, but smooth and much deeper than I was expecting (this is the 2 spring replacement, not a 3 spring)

    I'm going to give this amp a couple gigs before trying to figure out what I want to do with it mods-wise-it is a very heavy mids amp (I had the mids all the way to zero!) and I feel it could use a little bit of sparkle-I've read through the BlueGuitar mods, and while they're pretty straightforward, I've seen the innards of these amps before... not something I would look forward to working on, I'd rather work on a HRDX than this amp! Hoping a speaker/tube swap would solve my issues, but let me give this amp a little more play time before I start chasing after "the tone"...

    Thanks again (and I'm all ears on speaker-tube swaps!)

    Franc Robert
     
  13. uriah1

    uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    22,886
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Around
    Great..working..give it time..you may not need anything..
    .I tried many speakers..all different, all good...also did the NFB...I think I went back and undid it later...would have been nice to make a switch
     
  14. backalleyblues

    backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,227
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL, USA
    ok, time for a follow-up...

    Reverb is working fine, if a bit noisy-been reading that it could be the IC chip driving the reverb is going, will have to investigate which one it needs (without looking at a schematic, I'm betting TL072). Played 3 gigs now, and I have a much better handle on what this amp is about-very nice, kinda tweedy cleans on tap with this particular amp, big meaty tones with my '83 telly, and sounded gorgeous with my Guild Starfire IV.

    But it's still missing something to my ears-sounds kinda like the bright switch is off on a blackface Fender (my Super Reverb always has the bright switch on!). Wonder if there's a simple mod to the tone stack to address that, or maybe a speaker swap can accomplish the same thing? To refresh, it has its original Blue Marvel (Eminence, guessing Legend 1258) in there, dunno how well broken in it is...

    Franc Robert
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.