My Tremolux is ill...please help!

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Omissam, Oct 21, 2019.

  1. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    Hello Everyone,
    I'm Max, I'm a new member and in need of some experts advice.
    I own an old '63 Tremolux wich I bought some years ago
    I had it serviced from a local tech short after I bought it and it used to work well
    and I was very happy with my purchase.
    For different reasons the amp has stayed unplayed for a few (maybe 3) years until the other day when I decided to plug it in again.
    To my great dismay, when I plugged my guitar to it I couldn't get no sound out of the speaker!
    Or rather, I can hear a veeeery weak sound wich disappears completely when I turn the volume past 8. Same thing on both channels
    After having tested the obvious (the guitar, the cable, the speakers, the power tubes...) I started to
    worry that something baaad may have occurred.
    But what could it be? The amp stayed untouched for years
    Aware that I wouldn't be able to do any repair that is not replacing a blown fuse, I know that I'll
    have to bring the amp to a new local tech (the one who serviced it is long out of business...)
    Since I don't know in which hands my amp will be I'd like you to help me have an idea of what kind of
    problem I'm dealing with so I know what to expect from the tech diagnosis.
    Things I did to test the amp given my little knowledge of the matter are:
    - Replaced one by one all pre tubes
    - Replaced power and rectifier tubes
    - Contact cleaner sprayed all tubes connections and sockets
    - Tested Standby switch
    - Tested external 220/115V power transformer that feeds the amp
    Sorry, there's nothing else I would know how to test unless you suggest something
    I took several pics of the amp in case it might be useful
    Again, I'm not looking to fix the amp myself, I'm asking help here only to work out the sort of problem I could expect diagnosed when I entrust my amp to a tech I never seen before.

    Thank you in advance for your understanding and help
    Max
     
  2. Uncle Daddy

    Uncle Daddy Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Location:
    Maldon, England
    Sounds like some capacitor has reached the end of its life. A job for the tec.
     
  3. Wally

    Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    33,170
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    I have to ask if the speaker is plugged into the main speaker jack? If it is plugged into the extension speaker jack, the amp will act exactly as you describe. If it is correctly connected and IF the speaker cab is in proper working order, then it is tech time. and..welcome, Max!
     
    schmee likes this.
  4. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    Off chance.... Output transformer. Very hard to diagnose.
     
  5. schmee

    schmee Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    I think unless this ^ is it, you need a tech. It's likely something simple. Could just be a heater wire solder joint. Are you sure the speaker isn't bad or a wire is off or loose on the speaker?
     
  6. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    IMG_20191016_152704.jpg Thank you all for your prompt replies!

    Hi Uncle daddy, I had some capacitors replaced at the time of the service, around 2015 (See attached photo...)
    May it be some other ones?

    Hi, Wally, yes speaker connection is correct and speaker cab works fine
    Tech time! ;-)


    Nooo, please, I don't want to hear that!...Would it be fixable or need replacement?

    Cheers
    Max
     
    Wally likes this.
  7. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,426
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    You need to just get it to a tech. Anything we tell you will be a complete guess.
     
    Wally likes this.
  8. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    Hi, Schmee, I tested the speaker with another amp and it was working fine
    Excuse me, what does this sign mean? ^
    Thanks
    Max
     
  9. schmee

    schmee Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,478
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    It's an arrow pointing to the attached post!

    re: Output Transformer.
    It's probably not that, although anything is possible. If it does get replaced, keep the old bad transformer from the tech.
     
  10. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    Well, I was hoping someone had experienced the same issue sometimes...I understand it's not an easy task
    Well, I thought I'd give it a try...
    Thanks
    Max
     
  11. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,426
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    We all have experience with all those issues, but you've already done all the things you can do without cracking it open and taking voltage readings. It doesn't help for someone to get you afraid of a possible dead output transformer when it could be a bad power supply capacitor or resistor or something simple. But the only way to know is for someone with troubleshooting experience to poke it.
     
    radiocaster and Wally like this.
  12. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    That makes perfect sense.
    I'll cross my fingers and go see a tech

    Thank you all for your time and advices
    Best
    Max
     
    Wally and corliss1 like this.
  13. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    5,671
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    Need to check the plate resistors and in general the power supply resistors. I've had them fail a few times, it seems they are often of a wattage lower than they should be. I'm talking mainly new amps I have, but it could have been serviced and had a low wattage one put in place.
     
  14. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    I'll bear this in mind when I go to the tech...
    Thanks
     
  15. dan40

    dan40 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,341
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Richmond Va
    Do you have any spare tubes? It's unusual but it could simply be a bad tube. They don't normally fail from sitting for extended periods but it is possible that a tube lost it's vacuum and went bad. Take a look at all of the tubes and see if any of them have a strange whitish color near the top instead of the normal silver appearance. You may also want to remove each one and reinsert it to clean the pin connections. One may have tarnished over the years causing a bad connection.
     
  16. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,426
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    He mentioned he changed the tubes already, one at a time.
     
    Omissam likes this.
  17. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    Did all of that already....thanks for the hint on the whitish top of the tubes, I'll treasure that for the future
     
  18. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    Both channels?
    Didn't reverse power and rectifier tubes?

    And .... Those OTs.... They do go. Any rust there?
     
  19. Omissam

    Omissam TDPRI Member

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Location:
    Macerata, Italy
    Cheers
    Max
     

    Attached Files:

    • OT.jpg
      OT.jpg
      File size:
      230.4 KB
      Views:
      14
    • OT2.jpg
      OT2.jpg
      File size:
      207.4 KB
      Views:
      13
  20. RottenTheCat

    RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Location:
    Drambuie, Africa
    The three bigger tubes share the same size socket. Make sure they're in the right ones.

    Feel free to PM for further help
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.