My thoughts on building effects

radiocaster

Poster Extraordinaire
I've been making stuff since the 1980s.

I built a couple of kits from PC boards. The boards were bigger and the traces too.

A decade or more later, I made a couple on perforated boards, but not like the new ones that have those copper eyelets. They were just boards with holes in them. Can you still get those? I haven't seen those in a long time.

I really enjoyed that and would like to make some like that again. You just connect the leads of the components and solder. A lot less that can go wrong. I still have a couple of boards, which I can saw to make smaller ones, but my supply is really limited.

Several years ago I started making effects with modern PC boards. Everything is much smaller. I eventually got a huge magnifying glass with lamp and started using solder for SMDs and am getting better at making those, but I really don't enjoy it. I especially hate troubleshooting them, although I don't mind troubleshooting amps.

Also the new boards are covered in an annoying goop which melts when overheated. They obviously do this so you don't get solder on other things when working in miniature like this, and also for industrial solder baths.

I do have a lot of PC boards I bought and I want to finish them. Kind of thinking quitting building that type of stuff after I'm done with them.

zippofan

Tele-Afflicted
I've been building since Heathkit was around, I made my test equipment (scope, frequency counter, function generator) and my Hafler stereo (DH-110 preamp, tuner, XL280 power amp), plus mods from the old Audio Amateur magazine back in the 80's and 90's. I also made some perfboard circuits, the perfboards were from Radio Shack, as were the ideas (remember Forrest Mims' Engineer's Notebooks?) The hardest up til now was the Velleman digital tuner and Heathkit SW-101 shortwave receiver. I'd say the Aion Lab Series and Dimension C chorus pedal clones are nearly as complex.