My Squire Tele...

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by chet again, Aug 13, 2020.

  1. chet again

    chet again Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Location:
    iowa
    has a couple of kinda dead saddles. Can I put regular Fender Tele saddles in there? Other wise it plays and sounds pretty great.
     
  2. 985plowboy

    985plowboy Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,080
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    If you have some on hand try it out.
    It do or it do not. Or whatever Yoda says.
    At least switch around what you have and see if the dead spot follows the saddle. Maybe it’s something else.
     
  3. Blue

    Blue Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,071
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    England
    It's Squier, Squire.
     
    hemingway likes this.
  4. Musekatcher

    Musekatcher Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,731
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Location:
    meridianam altum centralis
    Try: tightening the hex screws, shaping the string slots, shaping/sanding the hex screw contact points. My Squier has a top loader bridge, which puts a strange twisting force on the saddles, that inverts where the string force acts against the saddle. You end up with more force on the back, instead of the front of the saddle. Its complicated, but I came up with a pin and plate system that corrected the contact force so its greater on the front slot. Not recommended, unless you are a compulsive tinkerer.
     
  5. Tarkus60

    Tarkus60 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    May 10, 2020
    Location:
    Salem In
    GFS sells quality SS saddles for squires and they are cheap.
     
  6. chet again

    chet again Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    2,111
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2019
    Location:
    iowa
    Thanks, guys!
     
  7. 68Telebass

    68Telebass Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,755
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Location:
    Northern Arizona
    What kind of saddles?? I’m getting a set of brass saddles for about $13 shipped. Others have enjoyed them on their Squier mods. Here they are..
    3D2922C3-944F-4C82-842F-484D34893BC6.jpeg
     
  8. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,222
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    Squires usually don't have saddles. You have to be a knight.
     
  9. 53Strat

    53Strat TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2020
    Location:
    Australia
    Na, they ride them bare back! ;)
     
  10. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,222
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    and usually donkeys as well.
     
  11. stantheman

    stantheman Doctor of Teleocity

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    11,522
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    White Mountains
    Wow...try a minuscule piece off of a matchbook.
    Works real good on The Nut end too.
    Kind of a roof repair thing some guy from the country “invented.”
    SRV did his bridge pieces with stripped electrical tubing, that’s part of the Tonal Secret with the neck pickup and the Tube Screamers.

    There’s a piece of bark off a tree from my old front yard that keeps the Trem Block from moving on my recycling center Peavey EVH-style Strat, another freebie some spoiled rotten numbskull gave up on. It’s been there for at least 8 years, longer maybe...nice chunky neck too.
    If you can do it for free and at the same time strut your
    Robinson Crusoe Skills, why not?

    SRV and Pat Metheny and Steve Howe inspired me in “the rustic philosophy “ - that’s why they
    rule, they get the whole “jury rigged” thing.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2020
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.