My setup: THR10C, JamUp, etc.

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by OwlPants, Jan 9, 2015.

1. OwlPants

OwlPants TDPRI Member

Just wanted to share my new found digital setup in case my experience is useful to anyone and/or start a conversation with others who are running something similar.

Background
    I've been noodling on guitar for 10+ years and never could play much of anything. Decided to get back into it last year.

Gear
    Sold all my gear a few years back so I picked up a MIM Telecaster and a Yamaha THR10C back in fall.

Yamaha THR10C
    The THR10C is a great little box for which I do not have many complaints. Only a handful come to mind:

1. Rattle. It gets a little rattly with the volume more than halfway up, bass notes make it buzz a bit more than I'd like. Tiny speakers. Good for quiet practice, less good when I'm home alone.
    2. USB. It's not class compliant so I can't use it an interface for my iPad whereas the Fender Mustang is.
    3. Price. If size is no concern, I feel the Mustang II or III is a better value.

Effects
    Recently got the craving to add some additional effects to my arsenal without investing in hundreds of dollars of pedals I don't really need, especially since I don't really know what I want yet. The guitar never leaves my den so being tethered to my Mac or iPad is not an issue.

Mac Options
    Explored Amplitube 3 and Guitar Rig 5 for Mac. Amplitube sounded better and Guitar Rig had the better interface. I actually can't stand using Amplitube; it feels so cluttered and 'spammy', for lack of a better word. From their website right down to their software, they could use a UI designer or seven.

iPad Options
    Reasearch led me to iPad options: I have an iPad that doesn't see much use as I never quite found the sweet spot for it alongside an iPhone, Kindle, and MacBook.