1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

My mystery twin shredders: "GiG" ?? brand. Explorer & Flying V. 70s-80s MIJ Vintage, Matsumoku? Axes

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by GreenMagicMan, Feb 2, 2019.

1. GreenMagicMan

GreenMagicMan Tele-Meister

Hi all:

A tale. And questions about what I have and who made these and when. These are the two guitars in my avatar.

Ok, finally getting around to post something online about my mysterious guitars I purchased. I flew down to Florida to buy these two almost a year ago. (Ok, I had a job there to travel to as well). I had been doing craigslist searches off and on for 6 months and heavy for 3 months for Boston, Florida and SF Bay area (places I go to).

After finishing one job in Clearwater / Tampa area, I rented a 'mystery' car rental from Enterprise.
    When I got there, they were jammed with people trying to get cars, and somehow they helped me within minutes and had me out the door... to a massive 4 door full sized jacked up truck! Was kind of funny. They asked if that was ok, I thought - "what the hell, why not".

I drove to my day job near Orlando. After work, I trekked out to Ormond Beach and met the coolest guy. He demo-ed the two guitars for me (I was an uber newb and couldn't play anything). They sounded fantastic. Particularly the Explorer. Now, I have wanted an Explorer since I was a little kid. I had just got gifted an Ibanez Gio strat for Christmas and felt a little guilty on this mission.... but must have... Explorer!

This vague craigslist ad with little info had no pics and a non functioning email. I got lucky and got hold of this older seller. He held them 10 days for me until I got there. I thought about them every day I was so antsy...