My Kirn Just Arrived :)

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by corbo, Feb 18, 2019.

1. corbo

corbo TDPRI Member Silver Supporter

Boys, she's here. I wanted a new axe for my 50th birthday. Never had much wanderlust with acoustics: I've been playing my Rosewood J45 since 2002 and have never looked back. But electrics? I've been more fickle. Over the years I've played Strats, Gibsons, PRS's, and Godins. My first electric worth having was a swamp ash 52 reissue Tele I bought in the early 90's. I had some lean years after college and had to sell it. But lately after all the other axes I've played, I longed for the simple, elegant look of a Tele. Lately I've been getting more into jazz and have become a huge fan of Ed Bickert. Now, I'll never play as good as him in a thousand years, but I do play a lot of jazzy chords in my original songs, through a clean setup, with my fingers 80% of the time, and the idea of having a Tele with a humbucker at the neck had become very appealing to me.

I first thought about getting an actual Fender "off the rack", but I ran into a few issues. I spent a bunch of hours in various forums here and on other sites, as well as trolling the big and small music store sites, trying to familiarize myself with all the models and trim levels and specs of all the iterations of the current Fender Telecaster. I'd wanted a humbucker at the neck, but if a "stock" tele had everything else in order for me I'd have been happy to modify that after the fact. I finally got down to the city and spent a good two hours at that pit of hell known as Guitar Center for the express purpose of checking out how all the different Teles sounded and felt.