my first build: Rick 330-6

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Dimitree, Jul 10, 2019.

1. Dimitree

Dimitree TDPRI Member

hello everyone,
    I already built a Jazzmaster and a Jazz Bass but not from scratch, I only assembled and painted them.
    This will be my first build from scratch.
    Obviously it will be full of mistakes and not done properly..so please don't bang on me :D I'm just learning, I don't care if the guitar won't be playable at all or won't sound/look good.

I choosed a Rickenbacker 330 because I fell in love with one in Azureglo finish that they don't make anymore, so I said, why not try to build it.

Specs will be as close as I can to the vintage 330 (maple body and neck, 21 frets, 10" radius, gibson scale, carved body with glued back, set neck).

So I started from some good picture on the internet of a vintage 330, and using Adobe Illustrator I drawn my own template.

[​IMG]

I manufactured the template of the body with a laser cutter using 6mm plywood.

Then I got some pieces of hard maple, actually 6 pieces because I couldn't find large pieces here in Italy, so I had to use 2 layers consisting of 3 pieces each.
    I know, maybe too many pieces, but again, I'm learning and don't pretend it to sound good, and by the way, the second layer will be carved for the most part except for the sides.

after some hours of planing the pieces, I glued them using Titebond, it came up perfectly, way beyond my expectations

[​IMG]

here the first mistake happened: after planing, the blank became narrower then the template maximum width, so I had to shorten the template by splitting it in half, removing 5mm at the center and then glueing it back.

then I used my cheap bandsaw (9" or 8" I think) to rough shape the body, even this part came up way better than what I thought (since this is the first time I used those tools).

[​IMG]

next steps will be:

1) smoothing the body outline using the router and sandpaper