1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

My first attempt at Pinstipe

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by NastyMojo, Aug 5, 2012.

1. NastyMojo

NastyMojo Tele-Afflicted

I've been thinking about learning how to pinstripe. This is my first attempt using a virtual guitar builder,and then posting it in paint and using my mouse.
    Anybody like it? Should I try to proceed in learning?

[​IMG]

2. BigD

BigD Friend of Leo's

Honestly, to me PSing looks crappy on a Guitar. Wasn't that something folks did to cars in the 80's?

3. idjster

idjster VERY grateful member Silver Supporter

This is just me, but I'm not crazy about pinstriping. I don't mind a bit of really subtle pinstriping, but for the most part I prefer a nice plain or burst. Just me, though. To each their own.

4. Hack On Wheels

Hack On Wheels Tele-Meister

I dig it. You should give it a shot! I'd be very interested to know how the pinstriping process goes for you.

5. NightBoss

NightBoss TDPRI Member

Great thing about learning to pinstripe....it's easy to try. All you need are good brushes and any flat surface until you are ready to try it on your favorite guitar.

Practice and try different techniques on scrap lumber, the refrigerator door, the garage wall, the fenders of your neighbors car, the cats litter box, your wife's washer and dryer.......

6. JCBurke59

JCBurke59 Tele-Holic

Started on buggies around the turn of the century (1900) actually, with the 1950's considered the 'golden age' of hot rod style pinstriping. Like any other art form, beauty is in the eye of the beholder...