1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

MXR Mini Iso-Brick

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Edgar Allan Presley, Mar 8, 2021.

  1. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    Anyone tried the MXR Mini Iso-Brick? I love the tiny size, and it's enough outputs for my Nano+ board. I wish it had the option of 12v for an old Boss ACA pedal, but I can probably work with what's here. I'm wondering whether or not this little thing is working for anyone.

    [​IMG]
    Edit to add: Whoa, that picture is bigger than actual size.
     
  2. Jay Jernigan

    Jay Jernigan Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Location:
    10-uh-C
    Is that a rechargable power supply?
    Also, if the ACA is DC 12v, the 18v should be ok with it... I think.
     
    Edgar Allan Presley likes this.
  3. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,377
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    I use it. Works. What more can I say?
     
    Edgar Allan Presley and blue17 like this.
  4. blue17

    blue17 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    No, it’s just a standard 5 output isolated power supply.

    Like the post above, it works and fits under my board while staying tidy and quiet. You can also daisy chain a second one to it. What else could you want?
     
  5. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    There's not much to say about a power supply that works fine. Thanks for your input!
     
    MilwMark likes this.
  6. blue17

    blue17 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    368
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Also, I just read in the post that you have the Nano+. Not sure if you've got the brick yet, but I have the same board, and it fits under just fine with a few mm of clearance.
     
    MilwMark and Edgar Allan Presley like this.
  7. Telewielder

    Telewielder Tele-Meister

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Location:
    Brazil
    I got one a few weeks back. Sits perfectly in the slot of my old Pedaltrain Mini. I'm using the 18V tap to power my Montavillian delay. Very happy with the MXR Mini Iso Brick.
     
    Edgar Allan Presley likes this.
  8. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    Excellent. Thanks.
     
  9. Slip Kid

    Slip Kid Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I bought one to use with a small board. My only complaint is that the barrel plug on the wall wart cord tends to unplug itself from the power supply too easily. I’ve never had this problem with my VooDoo Labs Pedal Power 2.
     
    Edgar Allan Presley likes this.
  10. IMadeYouReadThis

    IMadeYouReadThis Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Location:
    Kansas
    I was actually just looking into this the other day. I was about to pull the trigger, but I've heard questionable thinks about the isolation of MXR supplies. Does anybody know if this one is truly isolated? I find it a major red flag when the manufacturer doesn't disclose whether the supply is toroidal or switch mode (whatever the heck that means). ;)
     
    Edgar Allan Presley likes this.
  11. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,377
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    I've run into this with every PS I've tried, honestly. MXR, multiple VooDoo labs. In fact, I find the AC input finicky on VooDoo labs. maybe because those cables are less flexible and they are always making a hard turn to get behind me to the wall? It's the rare stage that has power in front IME.
     
  12. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    I don't know what those words mean either, except I think "toroidal" would require a transformer that wouldn't fit in a little unit like this?
     
    IMadeYouReadThis likes this.
  13. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    Sounds like a case for my old friend gaff tape. Thanks for the heads up. I haven't had that problem with my Voodoo Labs unit, either.
     
    Slip Kid likes this.
  14. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,377
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    Now that you mention, I did that on mine. Or, more specifically, I taped the final "bend" in the power input cable to the underside of the board with some slack/play between it and the brick input. That stress relief seems to have worked.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2021
    Slip Kid and Edgar Allan Presley like this.
  15. burntfrijoles

    burntfrijoles Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,156
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere Over The Rainbow
    I’ve had one for nearly two years. No issues. Fits underneath my Pedaltrain.
     
    Edgar Allan Presley likes this.
  16. Telewielder

    Telewielder Tele-Meister

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Location:
    Brazil
    It is truly isolated. I used to daisy chain my pedals on this board (Polytune, Sole Pressure, Classic 108, Montavillian, Shaker) and had some pretty bad noise. It's dead quiet now.
     
    bgmacaw and Edgar Allan Presley like this.
  17. Djentleman Dan

    Djentleman Dan Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    917
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2018
    Location:
    Moorpark, CA
    Stupid question:

    Since there's no on/off switch, my only option is to plug/unplug this from the power strip every time I use it? I play in my living room with other stuff plugged into that strip - a lamp, phone charger, subwoofer, etc.

    Thanks in advance - sorry for newb question.
     
  18. dswo

    dswo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    773
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    East Carolina
    I have been using one of these with my Truetone C6: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07KY4DSNY/?tag=tdpri-20


    [​IMG]
     
  19. Edgar Allan Presley

    Edgar Allan Presley Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,060
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    Update: I got one of these MXR mini iso bricks, set it up, and it works great. Thanks for the input, y'all.
     
  20. Dobbin

    Dobbin TDPRI Member

    Age:
    42
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Location:
    Upriver
    I had this issue as well.
     
    Slip Kid likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.