MXR Dyna Comp vs Dyna Comp Script

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Telecaster88, Sep 10, 2019.

1. Telecaster88

Telecaster88 Tele-Meister

I'm a novice when it comes to pedals, but I like the built in compressor on my Vox Mini3 amp, and I'm a sucker for those classic 70's sounds, country, pop etc. So I'm gonna buy a Dyna Comp. There's also a "Script Version" that has "the rare "metal can" CA3080 IC to nail those vintage tones," per the fine folks at Sweetwater.

So what is a metal can CA3080 IC, and does it make the Script version worth almost twice as much as the standard Dyna Comp?

Thanks!

2. RetroTeleRod

RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

*deleted*

Last edited: Sep 10, 2019
    omahaaudio likes this.
  3. Telecaster88

I have a Phase 90 Script, because the price difference was minimal versus the standard pedal-- but the price difference on the Dyna Comp and DC Script is huge! Just wondering if it's worth it somehow...

4. RetroTeleRod

RetroTeleRod Poster Extraordinaire

Oops! I was thinking phaser not compressor! Sorry about that! :oops::oops::oops:

Telecaster88 likes this.
  5. Phrygian77

Phrygian77 Tele-Afflicted

The script shouldn't have regeneration, if I'm remembering right. It's more subtle. More like 70s Merle Haggard.

6. Phrygian77

Phrygian77 Tele-Afflicted

The MXR phase 95 does a great job reproducing them all, BTW. I love the script 90 setting turned fairly low for that Waylon sound, and the script phase 45 turned up for a Univibe type sound.

7. tfarny

tfarny Friend of Leo's

I don't have an answer to your question (about COMPRESSORS), except the newer compressors are more versatile and quieter than a dyna comp.

Chunkocaster likes this.
  8. NWinther

NWinther Tele-Afflicted

But often sounds rather...well boring^ Blended boring, topgrade parts boring, quietly...boring....

Telecaster88 likes this.
  9. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I don't know but im interested to find out the difference on the compressors.