1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Musicmaster Bass Amp - A Hum Troubleshooting Guide

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by RasDeluxe, Jan 17, 2021.

1. RasDeluxe

RasDeluxe NEW MEMBER!

Hi folks -

Longtime lurker, first-time poster and all that. Had a late 70s (6V6) MMB on the bench this week and I thought I'd post notes from working through some nasty hum issues with this weird little amp. I'm not a professional tube-amp tech by any stretch, but my day job is in electronics troubleshooting and repair and I've designed and built a couple dozen amps over the years. I've benefitted extensively from y'all's expertise and knowledge here, and I'd love to do what little I can to give back to that body of knowledge. Anyway, on to the meat...

THE VICTIM

I recently picked up a '78(ish) MMB from a buddy. Needed it like I need another hole in my head, but it's a fun oddball amp that seemed to present some interesting non-destructive mod possibilities. I have a regular gig where having a smaller amp with decent low-volume clean headroom that I could leave at the venue would be great. This little guy seemed to have the potential to fit the bill. One problem: the amp as received was an absolute hum factory at idle, even at moderate volumes. Noisy enough to be unusable mic'd for a low-volume gig.