Musical training that is complimentary to guitar

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Stanford Guitar, May 16, 2020.

1. Stanford Guitar

Stanford Guitar Tele-Meister

I'm thinking to take some formal snare lessons to work on my timing. I'm thinking this will carry over to my guitar/bass playing as well.

Thoughts? Other ideas?

nojazzhere, tah1962 and Jim622 like this.
  2. scook

scook Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

I took drum lessons for a while for exactly the same reason. It definitely helped my rhythm, counting, and overall understanding of time and feel.
    Immensely helpful to overall understanding of music.

Stanford Guitar likes this.
  3. ce24

ce24 Poster Extraordinaire

I wish I had piano lessons...

4. trev333

trev333 Telefied Ad Free Member

I was a snare drummer in marching bands through primary/high school......

I have a metronome in my head now.... marching and playing sure helps your timing...;)

5. tfarny

tfarny Friend of Leo's

Drums are super helpful for a musician, just to develop that part of your brain, and if you play with a drummer, to hear what he/she is doing and respond to it. Plus they are a heck of a lot of fun except when you sit there waiting for all the guitarists to tune up and talk about their pedals...

I'm buying a keyboard tomorrow, mostly for ease of working out harmony singing but also to re-learn to read sheet music.

nojazzhere, Stanford Guitar and ce24 like this.
  6. koen

koen Friend of Leo's

Singing lessons.

PhredE, Stanford Guitar and ce24 like this.
  7. cyclopean

cyclopean Friend of Leo's

mandolin will make you a better guitarist.

8. Obsessed

Obsessed Telefied Ad Free Member

I took up the bongos to help my timing and it was the best idea I ever had ... to help my timing.

Toadtele and Stanford Guitar like this.
  9. Bergy

Bergy Tele-Holic

Studying other instruments can grant fresh perspective to the way you approach your primary instrument.