Musical quilting? or something worse?

catdaddy

Tele-Afflicted
As a long time songwriter I've become something of a studio rat, having spent so much time recording and arranging demos for my songs. Since I'm not a prolific writer and have lots of downtime between songs, I often amuse myself by noodling and experimenting in my studio with all of the technology built into my DAW. A few years ago I discovered the loops that come with Logic Pro, and created a musical "composition" by editing, layering and recombining a few dozen various instrument loops. Since Logic Pro contains literally thousands of loops in more than a dozen different genres, the possibilities for creating music with them is practically unlimited. I've found it quite entertaining and instructive to experiment by combining different genres and instruments in various and sundry combinations.

Some of these sound experiment recordings have actually turned into something listenable, and recently my wife told me she really liked one that I'd just completed. She asked me how I recorded it, and when I explained how it was done her words to me were: "Isn't that cheating?" Well, I admitted that the technology involved made the process pretty easy, and it certainly isn't anything like the labor and creatively intensive process of actually writing a song.