1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Music store riff amnesia

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Gin Mill Cowboy, Mar 3, 2021.

1. Gin Mill Cowboy

Gin Mill Cowboy Tele-Meister

I've been playing for a good 30 years, been in bands, and can improvise well; but whenever I am "put on the spot" I cant play anything that shows my abilities. I get a riff amnesia.

For example, I always run into this when I pick up my guitars from being set up. The tech/luthier always plugs me in to an amp and I freeze up.

Anybody else experience this? The last time I actually planned some stuff to play:)

Hope everybody is hanging in there with the pandemic.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2021
    P Thought, Gaz_, OldPup and 28 others like this.
  2. Electric Warrior

Electric Warrior Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

You are not alone. Happens to me all of the time. I know all sorts of riffs and leads and they flow out of me in the living room, but usually can only think of "Jesus Just Left Chicago" if someone sits me down in front of an amp at a music store. I find if they leave me alone, I get my sea legs and am fine when they come back to me.

3. Dismalhead

Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

Yep. Same here. It's like music store impotence. Always been that way for me. Don't get it onstage. About five years ago I started playing You're a Big Girl Now if I couldn't think of anything.

Last edited: Mar 3, 2021
    WingedWords likes this.
  4. pugnax

pugnax Tele-Meister

The opening to Radiohead's Airbag is etched into my mind for those moments.

5. Dan German

Dan German Doctor of Teleocity

Not that I can play anything very well, but if I demo a guitar in a store, I always play "Sportin' Life Blues" then forget everything I've ever known. I am kind of glad to see I'm not alone.