1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Music Man 112RD One Hundred

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by JayDee, May 11, 2010.

1. JayDee

JayDee Tele-Holic

Hello all. ran onto one of these yesterday in a local store. I didn't know anything about them. The guy described it as kind of a Twin Reverb sound on the clean channel, but thru one 12in speaker. I plugged a cheap Tele copy into it and loved it. This thing was FAT sounding. For reference, I've been using a DRRI for a few years now. I hardly messed with the dirty channel. I didn't like the reverb as much as the DRRI's reverb. Also, it's a 100 watt amp, but the original speaker had been replaced with an Electro Harmonix 12VR8 75watt speaker. I don't know if that would only be a problem if it was cranked or not. BTW they said they'd take $400.
    I'm looking for anyone's thoughts who've had experience with these amps? Pros and cons? Thanks.

2. tubescent

tubescent Tele-Meister

i used to have one many moons ago
    from what i remember:
    pros - great general clean sound, very reliable, very loud.
    cons - bloody heavy, reverb not stella.
    the big pro is that is was cheap when i bought it and they're still cheap now, absolute bargain if you don't mind the carry. if i had a roadie (dream on) then i wouldn't blink.

3. Ronsonic

Ronsonic Tele-Afflicted

Tubescent pretty well gave the executive summary. Big, loud, clean and clear. Very well built. They were very much not messing around. Highly giggable and easy to work on when needed.

4. JayDee

JayDee Tele-Holic

Thanks for the feedback thus far. Does anyone think that 75watt EH 12VR8 is gonna be a problem? The amp is 100 watts. I can't conceive of a gig where I would ever have to run it cranked. Keep it coming!

5. 3 Chord

3 Chord Friend of Leo's