Multimeter Advice.......

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by amp boy, Feb 25, 2009.

1. amp boy

amp boy Tele-Meister

Hey Folks,

I am looking to get a multimeter, and would appreciate some recommendations of what to look for.
    I have never used on before, and am looking to get into working and understanding guitar and amp electronics.
    So far i have picked up a Hakko soldering iron, and will be picking up hand tools as needed. I have some of the basics already.
    I believe investing in a quality iron was a good choice, and am now looking to do the same with a multimeter.

What do i need in a multimeter for guitar and amp/speaker cab work ??

Any recomendations, and why ??
    I'll most likely be buying used off ebay, since i cannot find anything in Toronto......damn box stores and knock off markets !!!!
    There is one pro tool place i know of...the only place that knew what a hand reamer was for wood working. I'll check there sometime, but the price would be over me most likely.

hope yer all having a fine day, thank you kindly for your time.

- Amp Boy, ........ahhhh superman is no match for this wall of sound !!!

2. OhioJohn

OhioJohn TDPRI Member

Multimeter Advice

Go to Harbor Freight, you can get a DMM for less than five bucks. It won't have all the features of an industrial quality meter, but its accuracy will be quite good, and, if you've never used one before, odds are you'll burn out your first one trying to measure the resistance of the power plant that powers your home or some such. (Don't ask me how I know this!)

I've got a high dollar B&K, but find myself using my Harbor Freight meter all the time.

3. f69tele

f69tele Tele-Holic

I had one of these and loved it - until I stupidly tried to check an electric fence voltage and burned it up.

Leviton Multimeter

Be sure and get one that has continuity check.

4. Lost_N_Austin

Lost_N_Austin Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter