Moving up from being a band member to being the leader?

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by DADGAD, Jun 18, 2021.

1. DADGAD

DADGAD Friend of Leo's

Peter Gabriel was the original frontman for Genesis. When Peter left the band, Genesis did quite well when the drummer, Phil Collins, took the lead singer spot. Has this happened with any other bands?

Four years ago at church, I was a guitarist. But I was offered the music director slot when the last leader left to join the Marines. It has worked out well.

Now with my classic rock band, the lead singer/acoustic guitar just sold his house and is moving out of state. The other members and I want to keep the band together. It looks like I may have to move up to the front man slot. I hesitate to lead because I enjoy just playing guitar with exceptional musicians. I get to let down my hair and just rock out without being responsible for holding it all together. I think it will be much more work.

Any suggestions for making the transition? Stories, wisdom and experiences are much appreciated.

2. schmee

schmee Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Be prepared to no longer spend time loving music but instead mostly;
    schmoozing,
    making posters,
    following where new music events are opening up,
    contacting club managers via phone/email/FB message,
    recontacting club managers via phone/email/FB message,
    coming up with set lists,
    organizing rehearsals,
    reminding slacker musicians that may or may not show up for rehearsal to be there,
    finding replacements for musicians that cant make a gig,
    suggesting new songs,
    telling people they can't sing that song well enough,
    going to the bank ahead of time to get cash for your musicians when the venue is paying by check,
    etc etc etc

DADGAD and nojazzhere like this.
  3. _MementoMori_

_MementoMori_ Tele-Afflicted