1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

More robots please.

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by imwjl, Mar 5, 2021.

1. imwjl

imwjl Poster Extraordinaire

The jump in automobile deaths relative to drop in miles driven stands out but so does Italy having stats in the opposite direction. I look forward to the all cars sold with automatic emergency braking later this year.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/u-s-ro...1k744flxl6u&reflink=desktopwebshare_permalink

Even being a good driver, I appreciate the robots' consistency. We have 2 cars with the robots helping and one not. Subaru's system is definitely better than VAG so it will also be interesting to know how all the different makers do this.

At same time GM news on "super cruise" and Tesla rumors are pretty interesting. GM will include it on the two new battery cars out soon. My Tesla owning friends say the price is dropping.

Flip G likes this.
  2. SRHmusic

SRHmusic Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

The cruise control with distance following is nice. As far as more automated vehicles, I've seen enough issues with real time software I would prefer better driver training and simpler vehicles. But it seems the industry and academia, and I guess society, prefer to go all in on complexity in vehicles and systems instead. We'll see how it goes. This is heading toward a very complex system environment of people, conditions, sensors, software and unexpected situations.

Bassman8, catdaddy, GibbyTwin and 2 others like this.
  3. blowtorch

blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

Teslas are haunted

4. _MementoMori_

_MementoMori_ Tele-Holic

My vote would be for all computerized/smart/AI automobile integration to disappear from the earth forevermore. Give me crank windows, manual locks, and a cassette deck stereo. I'm not joking even a little.