Mojotone Quiet Coils

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by gkterry, Jan 10, 2018.

1. gkterry

gkterry Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Has anyone had any experience with either the 1952 set or the Broadcaster set of Mojotone quiet coils. Not quite so worried about them being totally quiet (though I suspect they are) as I am with at least a half-way authentic tone for these two sets.

I am not experienced enough with early 50's pickups to know what they should sound like. So, I would appreciate any insight.

Thanks for any assistance,

Greg

double_a likes this.
  2. maxvintage

maxvintage Poster Extraordinaire

I feel like those are marketed somewhat deceptively. They are just small humbuckers, like the duncan little 59 or the barden dual blades, with a dummy cover. The dual blade design can sound great--I have a Barden that sounds great in one of my teles. But in my experience they never sound like a single coil pickup

Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
    gkterry and Teleterr like this.
  3. gkterry

Thanks, Max. That is what I was concerned about.

In my first post I didn't mean to imply that I was unfamiliar with the early 50's sound. I just have not had the honor of hearing one firsthand, up close & personal.

I am beginning to think Rob's Cavalier pickups will be in my future, after hearing so much good about him & them. The problem is deciding which flavor sounds best.

preactor likes this.
  4. MojoTone

MojoTone TDPRI Member Vendor Member

This isn't true. We use Alnico and not steel blades and ceramic like the ones you mentioned. We also use correct gauge coil wire and match resonant peak frequency of a single coil along with inductance so it sits right where its single coil counter part would just without the hum.

don, Tommyd55, msg315 and 4 others like this.
  5. Golem

Golem Tele-Holic