Mojotone 5F11 build thread

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by AlbertaGriff, Dec 10, 2019.

1. AlbertaGriff

AlbertaGriff Tele-Afflicted

Hi all. Before I even begin, I appreciate all the help. This is my first build and I already can tell I will have some dumb questions.

Generally, I think I am understanding things. I was reading @robrob's site at work today.

All I have done so far is mount the hardware, full well knowing I might have to remove some in order to make other things easier. I just wanted to get some sort of start.

20191210_195304.jpg

My first question relates to grounding. I plan to use a split grounding scheme, and I think it's actually laid out okay in the Mojotone layout provided (pictured).

20191210_195316.jpg

I am wondering what the best practice is as far as where to secure my grounds? The kit provides 1 3-lug terminal strip and 2 ground tabs (pictured). Are these worth using? If so, where specifically?

20191210_195309.jpg

Thanks again.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
    savofenno and JohnnyCrash like this.
  2. AlbertaGriff

Also, I should note that I do plan to add the bias adjustment pot.

Tonetele, JohnnyCrash and jsnwhite619 like this.
  3. JohnnyCrash

JohnnyCrash Doctor of Teleocity Gold Supporter

I’ve used both the strips and lugs for grounds. As long as the nut is locking (the Mojo kits use locking nuts), I’ve felt comfortable with them.

Did you get the entire kit, including cabinet and speaker?

This should be a fun thread to watch!

AlbertaGriff likes this.
  4. AlbertaGriff

Thanks for that - so where would you put the 3-lug and what would ground to it?

I did not get the entire kit - I had a 'spare' tweed Vibrolux sized cabinet with a 12" baffle, and I just ordered an Eminence SC64 to go with it.

5. Mark the Moose

Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

This is a great kit for a fantastic amp, I built one last year. Please report back on the speaker when it’s all said and done!

6. Tonetele

Tonetele Poster Extraordinaire