Mojotone 5f1 Champ

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by lil scotty, Jul 27, 2019.

1. lil scotty

lil scotty Tele-Meister

Hi. This is my first build and I have two questions if anyone is up for helping me.

1) The chassis indicates a 2 AMP fuse. But my kit came with a 1A/250V. The box with kit parts says 3AG/1AMP. My fuse blew after about 2-3 minutes of powering on for the first time. It seems I need a 2 AMP fuse, no?

2) Instructions don’t say what to do with all of those extra wires (Black with color coding) coming out of PT? I think I might have blown the fuse when moving those wires out of the way. They aren’t capped or “dealt” with at all, currently.

Thank you for your consideration.

Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  2. Intubator

Intubator Tele-Meister

Bawlmer, MD- Home of the "Mayor Shuffle"...
    You may want to check out this website before powering up your amp again.

https://robrobinette.com/Tube_Amp_Startup.htm

Any dangling wires can cause problems and cause a potentially a damaging/dangerous situation. Get the ends well insulated so they won't short.. Sounds like your fuse blew due to a wiring issue, not bc of the amperage rating necessarily... Good Luck going forward!

lil scotty likes this.
  3. lil scotty

lil scotty Tele-Meister

Thanks. I will check that out. The manual says nothing about those extra wires. They are just grayed out in all the diagrams. It’s driving me nuts!

4. AlbertaGriff

AlbertaGriff Tele-Afflicted

Intubator and lil scotty like this.
  5. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

Is this the kit with which you are working?
    https://www.mojotone.com/kits/TweedAmpKits_x/Test-Tweed-Champ-Amp-Kit
    Does your power transformer have wires other than shown in that schematic? FWIW, this schematic shows a 1A fuse.