Modified 5f10 Layout - check over?

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by jsnwhite619, Jan 11, 2020.

1. jsnwhite619

jsnwhite619 Friend of Leo's

I was messing around with this on paper and wanted some more experienced eyes to look it over. The only real changes are adding an extra eyelet on the board for the extra V2 grid stopper, and I moved & changed the NFB. My idea is doing it like a Princeton Reverb and making the bypass cap switchable, the ground side being on the switch.

The plan would be regular Harvard clean, then the gain boost on a switch or single button footswitch & RCA jack, like a lead boost. But, keeping NFB in the circuit - I've tried it with no NFB and it's just painfully bright and too rowdy.

Thoughts? 5f10 modified.jpg

2. jsnwhite619

Stock layout.

harvard_5f10_layout.gif

3. chas.wahl

chas.wahl Tele-Meister

I'm no expert by any means, but there doesn't seem to be any problem with what you're proposing. Years ago, a switchable bypass was part of Dave Hunter's design for the "Two-Stroke" in one of his books -- 5F2-A with single or twin (in parallel) 6{K|V|L}6s*.

Note that while Fender often (usually?) used 25 uF cathode bypass capacitors for "fully bypassed" gain stages, it's possible to use a lower value to bypass only frequencies over a shelf value, for more treble gain, less bass (cf. Merlin Blencowe's article on this in his Preamps book). Hunter's example has a switch in there for either 25 uF or 0.47 uF. In fact, you could use a 3-position spdt on-off-on switch, following @robrob Robinette's switching mantra, to have one of two bypass values, or no bypass (center).

Screen Shot 2020-01-12-0926.jpg
    * note that while the layouts I can find online for Dave Hunter's amp show only one 6V6, the one in his Guitar Amp Handbook shows two, and he even says that other similar octal tubes can be used.

references for Merlin Blencowe's info:
    http://valvewizard.co.uk/ChoosingBypassCaps.pdf