Moderately slow, with a 12/8 feeling

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by P Thought, Jun 1, 2021.

1. P Thought

P Thought Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Taking advantage of Mrs. Thought's newfound interest in the Grateful Dead, I amazoned out a copy of their Grateful Dead Anthology songbook. "Sugaree" is Mrs. T's favorite Dead song, so I turned to page 131. Now, while she's out a couple days on grandma duty, I'm going to dedicate my guitar time to learning the song. This is my first time in a while learning a song from a songbook, with full standard notation. I'm looking forward to more than just learning the song. The song's written in F.

The first thing the score says is, "Moderately slow, with a 12/8 feeling." Now, I know this is first-grade stuff to many of you, but I've "played guitar" a long time, and playing off a base of four triplets to a measure does not come naturally to me. I'm a bit of a stumblebum with just the guitar, try to sing along and it's hopeless. Aha, I thought to myself, you need to spend some time learning rhythm on purpose, and not just the ones you already know.

IMG_20210601_072737967.jpg

'scuse me. I have work to do. I got Beethoven off his piano to help me. (for the sharp-eyed among you, I slowed it down quite a bit for the song)

2. BigDaddyLH

BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Shuffle!

P Thought likes this.
  3. P Thought

:lol: I've always nodded my head sagely when I heard the word.

1622561026756-558945071.jpg

The opening 1, 5 goes on for almost a page and a half. I might just play that 'til after lunch. It says "feel", and I'm thinking about the Keith Richards quote somebody posted, about playing "around" the beat. I think I see what he means. For now though I'm working on mostly crosspicked triplets every measure; I see also that there are several ways to strum them.