1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Modeler for DI recording

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by dmfp123, Jan 18, 2021.

1. dmfp123

dmfp123 TDPRI Member

Hey guys, so I'm a guitar teacher & I want to set up a modest recording studio for kids to use in my teaching studio. I've put a lot of thought into it & the building I'm in would just cost too much to soundproof... walls are thin and it's by a busy street, so I think my best option is just to go digital DI. Would also be nice so I can have an older kid recording in one room while I'm teaching in another.

As of now the vast majority of my kids are into stuff that requires a good clean tone, so... that's my criteria and question--which of the modeling amps has the most options/tweakability/general quality of the clean sounds? Mainly looking at the Vox Cambridge, Blackstar Silverline, and Spark.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Fluddman

Fluddman Tele-Holic

Do you even need and amp.

There are non amp solution like an Iridium, HX Stomp, or something from Two Note which all sound great.

Or there are also software based solutions that run in your software platform.

So many choices!

3. somebodyelseuk

somebodyelseuk Tele-Meister

Anything from the original POD to the latest Helix/Fractal/Kemper floor units will do a great job.
    I'd tend to stay away from software plugins for playing through. They're really more for post production and the potential latency headaches, could detract from the learning experience.

Peegoo and dmfp123 like this.
  4. dmfp123

dmfp123 TDPRI Member

technically no, but I like the idea of being able to play with it away from a computer/ipad/headphones

Amps are kind of intrinsically fun

5. gimmeatele

gimmeatele Tele-Afflicted